top of page

Past Classes


I looked at Joe's blog, from one of Mat's most recent classes, and really liked some of the choices that he made regarding layout and placement of certain components within his site. Before getting caught on Joe’s I reviewed some other blogs that were too bland and simplistic. Most people just have a list of word documents under each project tab, the same as I do now on my working portfolio which I am unsatisfied with. However, Joe has this but also included this reflection for each project as a text box on each page. This allows a potential reader to gain an understanding for the purpose of each project before reading 3,000+ words of unrevised drafts. Another interesting decision that Joe made was putting his final reflection on the home page of his site. I am not sure if I like this placement on his site, but I definitely know that it would not work on my own wit site. I plan I putting my final reflection in a blog post as I have with all of my previous reflections from conferences. Finally, Joe also had pictures under each project tab but they do not add to the work. He placed pictures behind the text for the reflections and makes it slightly difficult to read to the reflection. If a viewer comes on his site and just reads the reflections, they will probably not leave satisfied by the challenge to read only a few paragraphs. That will not engage them to read the actual works. I plan to include more pictures/animations under my project tabs, but I will be sure not to take away from the text.

Joe's blog: https://jlpowellpowell.wixsite.com/mysite


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page