top of page

Assembling a Multigenre Project

Chapter 10 of the Bedford Book of Genres focuses on teaching how to put together multiple genre pieces into one work of art.

What?

The Bedford Book of Genres defines a multi genre project as “a collection of three or more genre compositions, built around a single topic.”

How?

  1. determine your purpose(s)

  2. create 3 or more individual genre pieces

  3. put these pieces together in a coherent masterpiece by strategically deciding the order and title of the project with an author's statement to tie it all together

Why?

Multigenre products allow you to convey a message to a specific audience in a form other than the traditional research paper. This may increase the likelihood that the audience reads/engages with the texts.

Most obviously this chapter will help us to compose our final project, project 3. However, as I am putting the final touches on project 2, I see how this same information can be applied. My project 2 has one topic: the process of rescuing shelter animals. Within this I have multiple purposes to writing; I want to inform people on the process through my experiences, and persuade them to help the process by adopting or fostering shelter animals. These different purposes are subtle in project 2 as the main goal is to analyze how the texts in my community encourage people to volunteer. Still, the underlying purposes are there and I plan to make them the main point of my project 3, as well.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page